JFile: :read: Unable to open file: /home/pakistantourism/public_html/libraries/cms/module/helper.php

    Photo Credit by: Imran Shah
    Yasin Valley

    Yasin Valley

    Yasin also known as Babaye-i-Yasen or Worshigum is a high mountain valley in the Hindu Kush mountains, in the northwestern Ghizer District in Gilgit-Baltistan, Pakistan. Yasin Tehsil is situated on its territory.

    Although sparsely populated, Yasin was of strategic importance because it leads to a high mountain pass, to Yarkhun in Chitral, and then to Broghol Pass, the Wakhan Corridor of Afghanistan and into Tajikistan. Thus, Yasin could have formed an invasion route from Czarist Russia into British India.

    Early period

    Yasin was originally ruled by the Khushwakhte Dynasty, a collateral line of the Mughal sultans of Dalhi, which came from Khorasan (Persia). The Rajas of Yasin were great warriors and fought against the Sikhs and the Dogras of Kashmir, but this house eventually lost power.

    c.1640 - c.1700 Shah Khuswaqt bin Mohammad Beg
    c.1700 Shah Alam
    c.1720 Shah Gahangir
    c.1740 Shah `Alamgir
    c.1750 Shah `Alam
    c.1760 Shah Badshah
    c.1780 - 1804 Mulk Aman (d. 1804)
    1804 - 1805 Kuwat Khan
    1805 - 1828/29 Sulayman Shah (d. 1828/29)
    1829 - 1830/40 Mir Aman
    1841 - 1860 Ghauhar Aman (Gur Rahma) (b. 1809 - d. 1860)
    1860 - 1880 Ghulam Muhyiuddin

    Chitral rule

    From 1880, Yasin was under suzerainty of Maharaja of Kashmir, initially ruled by the Mehtars of Chitral, until it got its own ruler again, now also styled Mehtar, in 1892.

    Yasin mehtars

    c.1892 - 1911 `Abd ar-Rahman Khan (1st time) (b. 1877 - d. 1948?)
    1911 - 1912 Shahid al-Agham Khan (d. 1912)
    1912 - 1922 Sifat Khan Bahadur (d. 1922)
    1923 - 19.. `Abd ar-Rahman Khan (2nd time) (s.a.)

    Yasin is separated from the Ishkoman Valley by a high mountain pass. To reach Yasin one must take the Karakoram Highway north from Islamabad, and then turn left to reach Gupis in Ghizar. After Gupis, one continues northwest to reach the Yasin Valley.

    The part of the valley where Khowar is spoken is known in the Shina language as Arinah.


    Administratively, Yasin constitutes Yasin Tehsil, which is part of Ghizer District. It is further divided into four local councils: Yasin, Sultanabad, Silgan and Thoi. Yasin consists of the villages of Chiliharang, Damalgan, Gindai, Noh, Morka, Atkash, Bujayot, Manichi, Thodass and Nazbar Valley. Thodass is the headquarters of this union council.Sultanabad union council consists of the villages of Chumarkhan, Taus, Barkhachi, Sultanabad (Met, Huyelti), Ghojalti, Sandi, Dalsandi and Qorqolti Valley. Taus is the headquarters of this union council. Selgaan union council consists of the villages of Barandass, Barkolti, Chilpi, Sheghetan, Hundoor, Terchet, Umalsat and Darkut, which leads to the Pass to Boroghol. Hundoor is the headquarters of this union council. Thoi union council consists the villages of Ghaingchel, Ishkaibar, Karimabad, Dalkoi, Dapis, drach, Harp, Rahimabad, Kuno, Shot, Chiryat, Ishqamdass, Draskin, Nalti, dass, Thelti, Ishqamghoro, Mahrakabun and Mushibarnala, which leads to Yarkhun Pass. Harp is the headquarters of this union council.


    The Darkut Pass connects Yasin with Wakhan and Chitral, hight 4267 meters or 14000 feet, Buroghul pass connect Yasi with Brughol, hight 3798 meters, or 12460 feet. while the Thoi Pass connects Yasin to Yarkhun Chitral,hight 4690 meters or 15387 feet. Assumber pass connects Yasin to Ishkomen. Darkot Pass is an historical pass which has been labelled as a restricted zone by the government of Pakistan. This pass used to be the shortest means of communication between the Oxus and Indus. Most tourism is along the Assumbur Pass to the Ishqamen valley. one pass is from Darkot yasin to Thoi, Three passes from Nazbar yasin connect to Mastuj Chitral hight 5009 meters or 16434 feet, one pass from Bujayote Nala to Bawoshter Ghizat Shamaran, one other pass from Khaimet bar to Chitral (sources Aina e Dardistan By Hidayat ullah Akhter, edited by Javed sajid Sultanabad Yasin)

    The Photo Gallery



    © 2023 Your Company. All Rights Reserved.

    Please publish modules in offcanvas position.